Husband: Carlos (variously spelled Carloss, Carlas, Carolus) Wood
Father: Joseph Wood [R002]
Mother: Martha (Epperson) Wood [R002]
Born: 3/14/1766
Died: Soon after 8/23/1828, in Prince Edward County (see below)

First wife: Priscilla (Holloway) Wood [S020]
Father: John Holloway [S077]
Born: In England [S077]

Married: 2/14/1787, in Prince Edward County. Minister, Samuel G.

James Morton Wood 11/14/1787-6/1/1877 [R251]

Second wife: Glaffery (Bailey) Wood [S063]
Father: David [?] Bailey [R278]
Mother: Mary Bailey [R278]

Married: 11/15/1798, in Charlotte County [S063]

Thomas E. Wood 11/24/1801-~1891 [R261]
Mary Vernon Wood [R361]
Joseph Wood (Joseph, who had Union leanings, figures in one of the
    Civil War tales about his brother, the redoubtable Tommie E. Wood
William Wood

(1996) Carlos appears in the 1810 census of Charlotte County with a wife, and two boys and two girls less than 10 years old. Evidently his son James Morton, ~23 at that time, had struck out on his own; one of his other sons had not yet been born; and one of his daughters would not survive to adulthood.

The 1820 census shows Carlos Wood living alone in Bath County, near his brothers Thomas [R252] and Edward [R003] Wood. Joseph Wood Jr.’s [R254] account book records sales of farm commodities to Carlos in Bath County in 1825 and 1826. On 1/9/1826 Carlos became indebted to Samuel S. Williams for $35.95, and Williams had to take him to court in an effort to recover that amount [S115].

Thereafter Carlos returned to Prince Edward County, where in August 1828 he lay dying, aged 62. Copies still exist of two letters he wrote to his daughter Mary Vernon Wood [R361] in that month, but they are too poor to warrant graphic reproduction. A transcription of the first follows:

“Prince Edward County Virginia August 6 1828

“Most Affectionate and Dutiful Daughter. I am still Alive And in a Gospel land. And am still Prolonged by the Grace of God from day to day And have been for the last 5 months Expecting every day to be my last. But don’t Grieve nor take to heart anything on my account. And have [implored?] my maker But have not received grace as yet. But am not yet in dispair for as Doctor Wall says while the lamp holds out to burn The vilest sinner may return why not me as well as the vilest. If I am the vilest I will not stop calling On my God while I have breath. time is precious with Me I have but a short opportunity of informing you Anything. let it be a satisfaction to you, after Giving my best compliments to you & Augustus. I likewise send it to your Uncle Edward & Aunt Sally & all his children one & all. I like wise send my compliments [---] to your uncle Joseph Wood & Joseph Wood & Joseph More. I have no more to write at present. Your Grandmother are still alive & are yet Aliving with your Aunt Tempy Baly. your Aunt Polly Harris Deceased about two weeks ago. And I supposed she was a christian she was baptized last fall. And your Aunt Tempy baly & betsy Holt was both baptized.

“And my deplorable situation is such that I can Neither walk nor set up nor have not for many Months. And am obliged to be attended to the same as a child. My left arm and hand and fingers are A---d so that I can not use them at all without taking my right hand and moving them likewise my thigh and leg & foot are entirely mamed or bad I have no use of it. I employed six Phicitians and never found out that they no [?] did me any good. Doctor Muttaw [?] was the last and he have given me out & don’t think he can do me any good. The other Doctor called my complaints the Rumatism but Doctor Muttaw say it is what is called a spasm [?] in the bowels. The last Medicine he give me besides some drops was spirits turpentime. I took about a quart. I took about 6 Tea spoons full a day at 3 different times. He said that it was not worth while to give me any more Medicine, that he did not think this necessary. Could be bought too. I conclude no more at present but ever remain your Affectionate Father
“Mary V Wood
“Carlos Wood”

The second letter begins

“Augst 23rd 1828
“Highly Esteemed Daughter
“I Received your letter of the 13th of July wich afforded me much pleasure to heare you were in common health; But painful to me to tell you that I can live but few days;...”

The rest of the letter is occupied with earnest religious sentiments.

Sources: [S017, S030, S031, S077, S083, S096, S097]